#14 Firefly Lane

b4affb353f39749dc1dc891680f61a38

First let me say, this may be one of my favorite books in all of the land. Which is not an easy thing for a work of fiction to accomplish since I’ve read so many books to date. However, I can say indubitably that Firefly Lane is on my short list of BEST BOOKS EVER.

I first read this novel as a sophomore in high school and fell in love with Tully and Kate instantly (I’ve compared their friendship to one in my life countless times). Since then, I have re-read this heartwarming (yes, I used heartwarming) book numerous times and fall deeper and deeper in love with the characters and the story of friendship each time. What brought me back to Kristin Hannah this year was the publishing of a sequel to Firefly Lane titled, Fly Away. I could hardly contain my excitement, and yes, book #15 in my journey is obviously Fly Away. But I couldn’t just dive into the sequel without re-reading and reacquainting myself with the characters in Firefly Lane.

Kristin Hannah and I have a love/hate relationship due to the fact that her books are usually categorized in the “romance” genre. I don’t consider myself to be a “romance book” reader. But. If loving Hannah’s books makes me wrong, I don’t want to be right. Firefly Lane is a story of two friends who go through life together, facing ups and downs, crying and laughing. I’m actually at a loss for words when it comes to describing this book, that’s how much I love it. Yes, love. I can’t even begin to count how many times I’ve read certain parts of the book, causing the dog-eared cover and its inability to go back to normal book form. Each time I have read it, something new resonates with me. This book has made me feel something different every single time I’ve read it and I think that’s pretty amazing. Please, please, please just read this book. If you hate it, tell me. If you love it, read it again. And again. Then tell me. Share it with your best friend, which is what I did. Since I’m not doing an awesome job of giving a unbiased review, I’ll just share my favorite quote from the many I loved in Firefly Lane.

“That was the thing about best friends. Like sisters and mothers, they could piss you off and make you cry and break your heart, but in the end, when the chips were down, there they were, making you laugh even in your darkest hours.”

Leave a Reply

