#36 It’s Called a Breakup Because It’s Broken

72df35ac22a4cd8503cdbfc9cc958b25

I must admit, I’m a sucker when it comes to Self-Help books. It’s Called a Breakup Because It’s Broken is my go-to whenever I get dumped, do the dumping, or am feeling a little lonely while living a single life. I can understand why the Self-Help genre normally gets a bad reputation, I’ve read some pretty awful and ridiculous titles while browsing the Self-Help section. HOWEVER. This book is one of the good ones, I promise. Written by Greg Behrendt, one of the authors of He’s Just Not That Into You (Which I have also read, oops.), and his wife Amiira Ruotola-Behrendt, this hilarious and honest book is just what the doctor ordered when your heart is broken.

Not only do I love that the authors refer to their readers as “hot stuff”, I love the humorous perspective that they give on such a tragic event in someone’s life. I’ve listened to the audiobook of this title countless times, and always laugh out loud. Despite the funny vibe this book gives, there is real advice that, I think, should be taken seriously and to heart. Thankfully, even though the book is written by husband and wife, it doesn’t focus on their happy marriage (who wants to hear about people being in love when you just fell out of it?). It also gives advice to those who are the one’s who ended a relationship and start feeling “dumper’s remorse”. Trust me, it’s a real thing. All in all, I obviously give It’s Called a Breakup Because It’s Broken a full 5 stars because in all honesty, this book has saved me. More than once. I HIGHLY recommend reading it to everyone I come across who has just had their heartbroken. In fact, my very best friends own copies as well.

“Don’t be flattered that he misses you. He should miss you. You’re deeply missable. However, he’s still the same person who just broke up with you. Remember, the only reason he can miss you is because he’s choosing, every day, not to be with you.”

Leave a Reply

