#41 Always Watching


5479ac1e58b981b95945255adbb17c37

I have been a Chevy Stevens fan ever since reading her first novel, Still Missing published in 2010. A year later, Stevens published Never Knowing which was just as wonderfully dark and amazing as Still Missing. Always Watching was released in 2013, and I can’t help but wonder, “What freaking happened?” Not that Always Watching didn’t have a twisted plot or enough suspense for me, but I just wanted more. The climax wasn’t what I had hoped, and I guess I wanted the story to be… a little more screwed up? Is that too much to ask?

I did appreciate that Stevens brought back psychiatrist, Dr. Nadine Lavoie, and the novel was about her past and present life. I love when authors incorporate minute characters from other books and bring them into a bigger light in a following novel. I had always been curious about what Nadine was really like while reading Still Missing, so thank you for that insight Chevy Stevens. I would rate this book at 3.5 stars, rounding up to 4 on Goodreads, only because it was really a slow-paced novel. I still have a place in my heart for Chevy Stevens, and hopefully her future novels will reflect the disturbing/powerful aspects like that of Still Missing and Never Knowing.

Leave a Reply

