#43 Hollow City

4cfc820eb73986f9645ff125e3f47028 Oh, Ransom Riggs. What a wonderful human being you are. I can’t express how thrilled I was when I found out Hollow City, the sequel to Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, was going to be published. On a whim, I bought Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children mostly because the pictures inside the novel were so creepy and interesting that I couldn’t stop leafing through it in the bookstore. I do not usually read fantasy/supernatural novels. At all. But for some odd reason, this book basically begged me to take it home with me. And goodness gracious, was I glad I did. Upon finishing Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, I could absolutely not wait until the sequel came out. More often than not, sequels can be quite disappointing when compared to the first. However, Ransom Riggs delivered, surpassing my expectations by leaps and bounds. Picking up right where his first novel left off, Riggs takes his readers back to 1940 where Jacob and his fellow peculiars have just escaped Miss Peregrine’s island “loop”. What I love the most about the peculiar children series is how Riggs incorporates all of the vintage photographs throughout his tellings, giving you an incredibly detailed description of the characters within the novel. (Even though I do love coming up with my own unique sense of what a character looks like in my head.) I strongly encourage anyone and everyone to give Hollow City a chance, as well as Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children. Both novels are creepy, in the absolute best way possible. The plot is capturing and you will never get bored reading what Riggs has written, I promise. ALSO. Tim Burton has chosen to direct a film adaptation of Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children. SO OBVIOUSLY IT’S AMAZING. Please, please, please just read these books. 5 Stars.

Leave a Reply

