#42 Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

How I did not know about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs before last year is unbeknownst to me. Published in 2011, I’m profoundly amazed that I didn’t know about it sooner. However, after seeing the cover while glancing over the “Bestselling Paperbacks” section at Hastings, I was immediately intrigued. The cover, in and of itself, was enough for me to say to myself, “I want to read this.” Being a sucker for the weird and unusual, I splurged and bought the paperback (even though I was broke, what I was doing at the book store, I do not know…) and never looked back.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is definitely not in my normal genre of books. I don’t read paranormal or fantasy books. But apparently, I do now. Especially if it’s coming from the amazing Ransom Riggs. While his characters and storyline were far from what I’m used to, I couldn’t help but get sucked into the fantasy world with peculiar children. Of course, the vintage photographs fed into my imagination, making the story come to life with each page. How on earth Riggs came about the idea of peculiar children, wights, and time loops I’ll never understand. All I can say is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was a reading experience unlike anything I have ever encountered. I’m looking forward to reading more books of this kind in the future.

This is a re-read, considering I had to get reacquainted with Riggs and his characters before the release of the sequel, Hollow City. Giving it 5 stars on Goodreads, rounding up from 4.5, I encourage avid readers to step into the magical and unusual world of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children for an unbelievable journey of their own.

Leave a Reply

