#47 Gods in Alabama

gods in Alabama

“There are gods in Alabama: Jack Daniel’s, high school quarterbacks, trucks, big tits, and also Jesus. I left one back there myself, back in Possett. I kicked it under the kudzu and left it to the roaches…”

From the opening sentence in Joshilyn Jackson’s novel I came across at a thrift store, I was absolutely hooked. Gods in Alabama was one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Full of humor and quick plot twists, I couldn’t read it fast enough.

From the inside cover: “When Arlene Fleet heads up north for college, she makes three promises to God: She will stop fornicating with every boy who crosses her path; never tell another lie; and never, ever go back to the “fourth rack of hell,” her hometown of Possett, Alabama. All she wants from him is one little miracle: make sure the body is never found.”

Jackson’s writing made me laugh out loud countless times and in the end, made me cry with the unexpected, tender ending. Being a pretty simplistic read, not to mention the intriguing storyline, gods in Alabama is an amazingly quick read. So quick in fact, that I read the last few chapters slowly because I was so upset the novel was coming to an end even though I was dying to know what happened. I rated gods in Alabama with a full 5 stars, only because I really enjoyed reading Jackson’s writing so dang much. I can’t wait to read more of what she has to offer.

Leave a Reply

