#67 The Never List

The Never List

First things first, I would like to ask: How in the HELL-o has Koethi Zan only written ONE book?! This simply baffles me. The Never List is one of the most thrilling novels I have ever read. EVER. How can she not have written anything else? Especially given that Zan is one of the most talented writers I’ve come across since starting this challenge.

Anyways. If you haven’t already figured it out, I absolutely, thoroughly enjoyed this work of fiction. So much in fact, that this is one of those books that you get so caught up in, that you think the characters and story are anything but fiction. At times, I could not grasp the reality that The Never List wasn’t real life. Zan does an amazing job of putting into perspective how phobic disorder feels and works. As well as portraying the detriments caused to someone’s life after being held in captivity.

The Never List is told from Sarah’s point of view. Sarah and her best friend, Jennifer, got abducted and locked in a cellar with 2 other young women 13 years ago. The fact that Jennifer didn’t make it out of that cellar has debilitated Sarah for the last 10 years of her life. Their captor is now facing parole after being locked away for only 10 years, and Sarah must face her past in order to ensure that he pays the price of life in captivity for what he did to Jennifer. Filled with the most unbelievable twists and turns, this novel doesn’t give you a second to catch your breath. I highly recommend reading The Never List, if only to get to the last few chapters where you will face the most unexpected ending imaginable. I rated it with 5 stars on Goodreads, because I honestly feel that’s what Zan’s first and only novel truly deserves.

“When I finally made my escape, I had thought I would never be unhappy again. That there was no room for unhappiness as long as I was free. Why, then, couldn’t I actually be happy?
Or is it the case that no one ever truly gets over anything? Is there really that much pain and suffering continuing right now at this minute, in millions of hearts, in bodies carrying on the burden of existence, trying to smile through tears for fleeting, passing moments here and there– when they can forget what happened to them, maybe even for whole hours at a time? Maybe that’s what it is to live.”

One thought on “#67 The Never List

Leave a Reply

