#69 Freak

Freak

Following Jennifer Hillier’s gripping thriller, Creep, I obviously had to check out the sequel, Freak. #68 on my journey to completing 100 books in 1 year was surprisingly a slow read for me. Why? I have no idea. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy Freak as much as I liked Creep, because it was definitely just as intriguing and creepy. Maybe I was having an off week? I just do not know. What I really like about Hillier’s writing is how fast  paced her plots are. You never get a second to relax because something awful and/or exciting happens in just about every chapter. I truly enjoy that when it comes to thriller writing. Given that I have read numerous novels in the Thriller/Suspense genre, I have to admit that Hillier has great potential to be one of those great thriller novelists. She has a knack for the odd and unusual to say the least.

Something minor and random that I SERIOUSLY loved about Freak, as well as Creep, was Dr. Shelia Tao was a pretty avid suspense reader herself. Not only do I love that Hillier gave Dr. Tao this quality but also that she mentions novels by Jeffery Deaver a handful of times throughout both novels. Why do I love this? Because obviously Jennifer Hillier is a fan of Jeffery Deaver. AND both of her novels feature a quote about the book on the cover by none other than Jeffery Deaver. I don’t know why I loved that little detail so much, it’s just well, COOL. The good Lord knows if I were to write a book, I’d want one of my favorite authors to review it! : )
Anyways. I rated Freak with 4 full stars on Goodreads, and definitely recommend giving Jennifer Hillier a chance. But of course, try and read Creep first to get the full effect. Either way, you won’t be disappointed.

Top of the line thriller writing.”-Jeffery Deaver

One thought on “#69 Freak

Leave a Reply

