#71 Promise Not To Tell

Promise Not to Tell

I came across this little novel on Pinterest and decided to see if my local library had it, since it sounded like something I would normally enjoy. Once I realized it was only 250 pages, Promise Not To Tell really sparked my interest. I’ve been longing for a short read after all of the more lengthy books I’ve been reading. To be honest, Jennifer McMahon threw me for a loop with this book of hers. Promise Not To Tell was most definitely not what I’m used to reading. Sure, the story revolves around a homicide which is right up my alley. However, a ghost story? Not what I was expecting. This is one of those books that is certainly a pleasant surprise. A little out of left field, McMahon’s short novel would not let me put it down. With longer chapters than I’m used to lately, I was willed to keep going even when my eyes begged to be closed.

What really surprised me about Promise Not To Tell was that it scared me… I can’t count how many times I got the chills or that sick feeling in my stomach. As unenjoyable as that sounds, that’s actually why I could not put it down! I had to find out what happened to the Potato Girl, no matter how creepily the story unfolded. Overall, I recommend this book to everyone. It’s a short and easy read, that is not lacking on the suspense front. On Goodreads I rated Promise Not To Tell a full 4 stars. Even though I was planning on giving it 3.5 until the last chapter, which gave me a severe case of the goosebumps. That alone is reason enough to pick up this book for a great Halloweenesque read.

2 thoughts on “#71 Promise Not To Tell

Leave a Reply

