#75 Cross My Heart

Cross My Heart

“With every step I kept seeing Ali, Bree, Damon, Jannie, and Nana Mama in my mind. With every step the horror of what had happened to them ignited inside me all over again, and loneliness and grief and anger.”

Reading these words in the prologue of James Patterson’s 21st Alex Cross novel, Cross My Heart, my heart sank. After 20 books of getting to know and becoming to love the members of Alex Cross’s family, I have to admit I’m a little attached to this fictional group of individuals. After reminding myself that they are, in fact, fictional and the world will go on no matter what happens in the next 406 pages, I couldn’t wait to find out what Patterson had in store for the beloved Cross family. Thankfully, I was not as disappointed and I thought I was going to be.

Patterson introduces a whole new kind of villain in Cross My Heart, Thierry Mulch. Comparing Mulch to other criminals that Patterson has conjured up in the Alex Cross novels, such as Mr. Smith, Kyle Craig, and Ron Guidice; I have to say Mulch is the worst. I think because Mulch has some unknown vendetta against Alex Cross, leading to terrorizing him in the worst way imaginable, is why I dislike this character so much. The why to Mulch’s actions is what pushed me flying through this book. Of course, James Patterson wasn’t going to make it that easy for me. Ending with a ridiculously intense cliff-hanger, I’m left waiting to find out what happens to the Cross family as well as decode the why puzzle. Thank goodness Patterson writes full-time and publishes books in lightning speed (in the book world) because the next book, Hope to Die, will be available in stores on November 24th. Now to just get my hands on it…

Aside from Thierry Mulch, Cross My Heart includes another criminal named Kenneth Carney. Seemingly suffering from multiple personality disorder , Patterson literally gave me the chills with his writing of Alex Cross’s interview with the novel’s mass murderer. This particular scene in the book (and maybe my ongoing crush on Alex Cross) is what led me to rating Cross My Heart a full 5 stars on Goodreads. The way Patterson described Carney’s character and changeovers from personality to personality was not only terrifying but completely enthralling and realistic. I have yet to be disappointed by the brilliant James Patterson and am hopelessly devoted to awaiting the release of Hope to Die.

2 thoughts on “#75 Cross My Heart

Leave a Reply

