#76 Dear Daughter

Dear Daughter

Where do I even begin?
I came across Dear Daughter on a list of books published this year and immediately put it on hold at my local library. Apparently this book was in high demand, because I completely forgot I even wanted to read it until a month later when I finally was notified that a copy was available. Not only was I intrigued by the novel’s cover, but also by the fact that Dear Daughter is Elizabeth Little’s debut novel. Determined to read as many new authors as possible, I found the synopsis on Goodreads (which you can read by clicking on the picture) and was sold. Normally, I browse reviews to get an idea on whether or not I’m going to enjoy a book. This time, however, I went in blind. I could not have been more surprised.

Janie Jenkins was charged and convicted of her high-society mother’s murder ten years ago when the book opens. Due to mismanagement of evidence her conviction is overturned, freeing her from prison but not from her conscious. Unable to say with certainty that she did not kill her mother, Janie is in search of the truth with only a remembered conversation of the night her mother was murdered. Elizabeth Little blew me away with how dark-witted and humorous Janie Jenkins is. I laughed out loud more times than I probably should have, considering the morose situation Jenkins is in. After about ten pages in, I knew this was going to be a book that I would binge on. The way Little writes is pretty much how I think, so it wasn’t hard to fall in love with her writing almost instantaneously.

Compiled of abrupt plot twists and dark humor, Dear Daughter is easily one of the best mysteries I’ve read. Other than the humor and complex storyline, I loved that I just didn’t know what to expect next from Little’s debut novel. Giving Dear Daughter a full 4 stars on Goodreads (only because the end left me with so many unanswered questions), I hope immensely that more is to come from the very talented and thrilling Elizabeth Little.
There was also an amazing reference to To Kill A Mockingbird which of course I appreciated!

“Multi-tools are like insults girls–you should always have one on hand.”

“That’s the thing about smoking. Even when everything else is out of your control, awful and random and bleak and unfair, for a few moments a day, at least, you can control the velocity of your life.
Also it helps keep you thin.”

One thought on “#76 Dear Daughter

Leave a Reply

