#77 Time of My Life

Time of My Life

I’ve been meaning to read this book for the last 4 or 5 years. I bought it that long ago, sold it, and then bought it again hoping that being purchased twice meant that I was meant to read it. Thankfully, I’m so glad I made this purchase twice! Time of My Life by Allison Winn Scotch was one of the most unique thought provoking novels I’ve read all year. In fact, after finishing it 2 days ago, I am still contemplating the decisions I would make if I were in Jillian Westfield’s shoes.

Time of My Life opens with Jill living the “perfect” life. With a successful husband, darling daughter, suburban home, and Range Rover in tow; what is there to miss? Jack, Jill’s (Jack and Jill? Really?) biggest “what if” ex-boyfriend, is all she can think about after hearing that he has gotten recently engaged. Even though they split 7 years ago, Jill can’t help but wonder if she made the right choice. And so, one morning she simply wakes up 7 years in the past. No husband named Henry. No daughter named Katie. No Range Rover. After initially losing her mind for a moment (how can you blame her?), she realizes that this is her second chance. A do-over. Armed with twenty-twenty hindsight, Jill begins to make deliberately different choices in her past life, hoping to find that the grass is greener on the other side. But, of course, we know that it isn’t always greener.

Filled with humor and hard questions, Time of My Life was an incredibly contemplative and entertaining read. Rating Scotch’s novel with 4 stars on Goodreads (rounding up from 3.5), I wished I had gotten a few more answers on the minute characters of the novel. HOWEVER. Time of My Life is the perfect book to curl up with as winter blows in.

One thought on “#77 Time of My Life

Leave a Reply

