#78 I Kill the Mockingbird

I Kill the MockingbirdThe great classic, To Kill A Mockingbird has been one of my favorite novels ever since it was assigned in my seventh grade English class. Harper Lee instilled and strengthened many of my current beliefs as well as piqued my interest in our justice system. I chose to read  Paul Acampora’s I Kill the Mockingbird purely based on the fact that it centers on a book that I return to over and over again.

I have to admit, I was very skeptical of this little novel at first. It is a children’s novel. I consider myself a little too old and mature to be browsing the children’s section at the library. However, I am so very glad I read this book. Lucy, Elena, and Michael were hilarious and bright characters that made me hope seventh graders are out there that are well-read and witty. After seeing To Kill A Mockingbird is on their summer reading list, the bold trio set out to ensure that their classmates and many others get excited about reading Harper Lee. Devising a brilliant plan (in my opinion), they set forth and hide all the copies they can of To Kill A Mockingbird in hopes of convincing readers that the book is somewhat forbidden. You always want what you can’t have, right?

I Kill the Mockingbird is truly a book that needs to be read with a rating of 4 stars on Goodreads. Not only was it comical, it was honestly a well-written story that makes me want to read To Kill A Mockingbird all over again.

2 thoughts on “#78 I Kill the Mockingbird

  1. I was never that big a fan of ‘To Kill A Mockingbird.’ I know, blasphemy, right? I just found the characters a little bit flat and was a little underwhelmed by the portrayal of race relations. Not that it’s a bad book; not at all, just not my cup of tea. As a lover of everything dark and disturbed, I’m more of a “Lord of the Flies” gal as far as the classics go. Do you think the kids hyping up the books by making them temporarily unavailable, hence increasing the mystique, is a commentary on censorship. Banning books is useless because it makes the book this much more interesting to more Liberal readers. In fact, “To Kill A Mockingbird” has been banned a fair few times itself, which blows my mind, since it’s fairly innocuous save for a few uses of the big ‘n’ word.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did not know this book existed!! Sounds fun!!! I too love “To Kill A Mockingbird” and now my interested has been peaked to read this children’s novel! Thanks Steph!! : )~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

