#79 Remember Me Like This

Remember Me Like This

I was so exited to read Remember Me Like This I could hardly contain myself when I was notified that it was waiting for me at the library. It’s been four years since Justin Campbell disappeared and his parents are still looking. Miraculously, their son has been found alive and seemingly well in a neighboring town. How can a hook like that not make you super excited? I began devouring Bret Anthony Johnston’s novel as soon as I got it home. I kept reading and reading, hoping for some answers and truth. And when I was finished, I couldn’t believe how much of a let down Remember Me Like This turned out to be.

Do not get me wrong, the writing is superb. Johnston definitely knows his way around grammar and storytelling. However, I felt like there was a lot of words being written and a lot of thoughts being described but not a lot of telling. Maybe it is wrong of me to have wanted to know what happened to poor Justin Campbell during his abduction. Or to have wanted to know what Justin was thinking. I just wanted to KNOW. I couldn’t help feeling like the other Campbell’s thoughts were boring, that the book dragged on and on and I learned nothing. I hate that I feel this way, given that Johnston’s writing was impressive but the substance was lacking. I rated Remember Me Like This with 3 stars, rounding up from 2.5. It’s not that Remember Me Like This was an all around awful book, it just wasn’t the book for me.

One thought on “#79 Remember Me Like This

Leave a Reply

