#81 The Winter People

The Winter People

After reading the synopsis for The Winter People on Goodreads, I immediately wanted to read this novel. I didn’t realize that Jennifer McMahon, the author of Promise Not to Tell, had written it until I already picked it up from the library. McMahon threw me for a loop with Promise Not to Tell and The Winter People was another left field read for me. I couldn’t have envisioned a more pleasant surprise.

McMahon effortlessly pulls you back and forth from the year 1908 to present day, creating an intense and eerie tale that I could not read fast enough. Set in West Hall, Vermont, The Winter People tells the story of the evils of the supernatural world colliding with the land of the living. Part ghost story, part thriller, McMahon’s latest novel gave me the creeps almost as much as it intrigued me page after page.  I don’t know how I’ve lived without knowing about Jennifer McMahon and her novels before reading Promise Not to Tell. She is a must-read author with a true gift of storytelling. I can’t wait to read more of her work and am so thankful I stepped out of my norm and ventured into her world of fiction. I rated The Winter People with 5 stars on Goodreads, mostly due to the goosebumps the closing sentence left me with.

“My child by birth, and my sleeper awakened.”

One thought on “#81 The Winter People

Leave a Reply

