#82 The Silent Sister

The Silent SisterUpon reading The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes by Diane Chamberlain, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on another one of her novels. Even though I’ve added a few of her books to my ever-growing collection, I had yet to actually read more of her work. Chamberlain’s latest novel, The Silent Sister, was published in October and told myself I had to read it, no matter what. Thank goodness I did. Much like the twists and turns that captured my interest in The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes, The Silent Sister is full of surprises that hooks it’s readers from the beginning.

Riley McPherson has been under the impression that her older sister, Lisa, committed suicide long ago her entire life. Twenty years after the tragedy that tore her family apart, Riley is back in her hometown to settle the last of her family’s possessions after her father passes. With many unanswered questions and clues to her sister being alive, Riley is determined to find out what really became of Lisa.

The Silent Sister was one of those novels that I knew what happened before even reading it. It can be a blessing and a curse when I ruin the surprises that a book contains for myself. I still ended up reading the whole book and wasn’t the least bit surprised with the outcome. Nevertheless, Chamberlain’s latest novel was emotionally engaging as well as beautifully written, landing my rating of 5 stars (rounding up from 4.5) on Goodreads and #82 on my list.

Leave a Reply

