Comfort & Joy

Comfort & Joy

I could defend Kristin Hannah as a writer until I’m blue in the face. I know a lot of people dislike her writing; it’s romantic and there’s always a happy ending. However, I love her books. I know that, no matter what, picking up one of her books will lead me through an array of emotions and leave me feeling all warm and fuzzy inside. Since I’ve been reading some creepy and depressing books lately, I felt it was time for a little Kristin Hannah in my life. I chose Comfort & Joy because it centers around Christmas, being December it was a nice fit.

After finding her sister sleeping with her husband, Joy Candellaro doesn’t think life can get any worse and is definitely not in the Christmas spirit. When her sister tells her that she’s pregnant and marrying her ex, all hell breaks loose in Joy’s already fragile mind. Hopping on the soonest departure at the airport, Joy is running away from it all. Unfortunately, her plane crashes. (Hannah is full of drama, do you see why I love her?) Surviving the crash and on the outskirts of the wreckage, she decides to just walk away. No going to the hospital, no going home. Instead, she walks until she finds a rundown bed-and-breakfast where a little boy checks her in. Joy plans on leaving in the morning, however, she’s pulled to the sad little boy and his damaged father, Daniel.

Comfort & Joy was fairy-tale like and romantic until Hannah rips that fantasy away and reality comes crashing down. I won’t spoil the ending or the reality of Joy’s situation, that you’ll have to find out for yourself. I rated Comfort & Joy with 4 full stars on Goodreads, a deserving rating for the unexpected twist Hannah created.

Leave a Reply

