The Island of Lost Girls

The Island of Lost Girls

I have ranted and raved about how much I love Jennifer McMahon’s writing the last couple of weeks. I loved Promise Not to Tell and devoured The Winter People. So you can imagine how excited I was when I found The Island of Lost Girls. I hate when I get into an author and find that not all of their books are equal. This was the case when I finished reading McMahon’s The Island of Lost Girls. To describe this novel in one word, it was tedious. The more I read, the more I just wanted it to be over with. I like the idea of the book, however, McMahon disappointed me with how she played out that idea.

Rhonda is a witness to a kidnapping that sends her into her past, recalling a similar scenario when a young girl went missing from her childhood. She desperately tries to find out what happened to the girl in her past, but also this current girl who has fallen victim to disappearance.There were some great twists in this novel, don’t get me wrong. Nevertheless, I did not love it. I didn’t even really like it. I finished The Island of Lost Girls with a 3 star rating (rounding up from 2.5) and only because I wanted to know what happened at the end. I currently have two more novels from McMahon waiting to be read, I’m hoping that this was just a fluke and my faith will be restored in McMahon.

2 thoughts on “The Island of Lost Girls

  1. Hmm!?!?! Sorry she disappointed you with this book Steph! I hate when I read a book and just want to get to the end because I am done with it already. You would think I would just stop reading and move on to another book, but I feel committed somehow to finish it. : )~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

